More actions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
(15 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown) | |||
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
{{Core|name=Attack Interaction|The most important |
{{Core|name=Attack Interaction|}}The most important interaction is the '''attack interaction''', which is used whenever a weapon, body part, or missile would come into contact with a target. The attacker first makes an '''attack roll''' ({{Dice|1d20}}) against the target's {{L|Core|Armor Class|Armor Class}} (AC). If the attacker is {{L|Core|Proficiency Bonus|Proficient}} with the {{L|Abilities|Ability}} they are using, they add their {{L|Core|Proficiency Bonus}} (P) to the roll. If this roll is equal to or greater than the target's {{L|Core|Armor Class|AC}} (typically 10 + {{L|AV}}), the attack '''hits'''. If the roll is less than the target's AC, the attack '''misses'''. A natural 20 on the die is always a hit, and a natural 1 is always a miss. The consequence of a hit is described in the "On hit" section of the {{L|Abilities|Ability}} that's used. |
||
If the |
If the hit is from a natural 20, then the attack is a '''critical hit''' and the effect of the {{L|Abilities|Ability}} "goes critical". If this changes anything about the effect, then it's described in the {{L|Abilities|Ability's}} "On critical hit" section. |
||
<!-- --> |
|||
When making multiple Attacks in the same Turn with the ''same weapon'', the Attacker takes an additional -5 to their Attack Roll for ''each'' Attack made beyond the first. This is called an Attack Penalty. For instance, if you Attack with the same weapon three times (using all three actions) in the same Turn, the first Attack has no Attack Penalty, the second has an Attack Penalty of -5, and the third has an Attack Penalty of -10. {{L|Property|Small}} weapons do not incur an Attack Penalty from multiple Attacks. |
<!-- When making multiple Attacks in the same Turn with the ''same weapon'', the Attacker takes an additional -5 to their Attack Roll for ''each'' Attack made beyond the first. This is called an Attack Penalty. For instance, if you Attack with the same weapon three times (using all three actions) in the same Turn, the first Attack has no Attack Penalty, the second has an Attack Penalty of -5, and the third has an Attack Penalty of -10. {{L|Property|Small}} weapons do not incur an Attack Penalty from multiple Attacks. --> |
||
<!-- --> |
|||
Any creature that is {{L|Condition|Up}} may choose to be hit by an attack, even if the attack would normally |
Any creature that is {{L|Condition|Up}} may choose to be hit by an attack, even if the attack would normally miss. This is called "Taking the hit". They cannot choose to take a critical hit. |
||
Shields have {{L|Property|Special|special}} rules regarding if a creature can attack. |
|||
{{ShieldRule|all=1}} |
|||
<includeonly> |
|||
{{#mermaid:flowchart TD |
{{#mermaid:flowchart TD |
||
ai["Attack Interaction Begins"] |
ai["Attack Interaction Begins"] |
||
Line 24: | Line 27: | ||
or -- "Responses Succeed" --> f |
or -- "Responses Succeed" --> f |
||
or -- "Responses Fail" --> a |
or -- "Responses Fail" --> a |
||
}}</includeonly> |
|||
}} }} |
|||
<includeonly>==</includeonly>== Multiple Attacks ==<includeonly>==</includeonly> |
|||
<noinclude> |
|||
{{Core:Multiple Attacks}}<noinclude> |
|||
⚫ | |||
== Complete Attack and Block Interaction Routine == |
|||
</noinclude> |
|||
⚫ | |||
</noinclude><noinclude>[[Category:Interactions]]</noinclude> |
Latest revision as of 19:23, 22 March 2025
The most important interaction is the attack interaction, which is used whenever a weapon, body part, or missile would come into contact with a target. The attacker first makes an attack roll (1d20) against the target's armor class (AC). If the attacker is proficient with the ability they are using, they add their proficiency bonus (P) to the roll. If this roll is equal to or greater than the target's AC (typically 10 + AV), the attack hits. If the roll is less than the target's AC, the attack misses. A natural 20 on the die is always a hit, and a natural 1 is always a miss. The consequence of a hit is described in the "On hit" section of the ability that's used.
If the hit is from a natural 20, then the attack is a critical hit and the effect of the ability "goes critical". If this changes anything about the effect, then it's described in the ability's "On critical hit" section. Any creature that is up may choose to be hit by an attack, even if the attack would normally miss. This is called "Taking the hit". They cannot choose to take a critical hit.
Shields have special rules regarding if a creature can attack.
- Buckler Shields
- Any type of item can be held in an arm with a buckler shield. But only small items in this hand can be used to attack or block.
- Large Shields
- Any type of item can be held in an arm with a large shield. But no item in this hand can be used to attack or block.
- Tower Shields
- Only small items can be held in an arm with a tower shield. No item in this hand can be used to attack or block.
Multiple Attacks
Attacks are always associated with a hand. This could be the hand that uses a weapon, that casts a spell, or that performs an unarmed strike. The first attack you make with a given hand has no penalty to hit. Each subsequent attack you make with that hand in the same turn incurs a cumulative -3 attack penalty to hit. Your attack penalty resets to 0 at the end of your turn.